BorgWarner celebrates Indy 500 winner in the prestigious Borg Warner Trophy


In the Victory Circle at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS), BorgWarner President and CEO Frédéric Lissalde presented the Borg-Warner Tropy to the Indianapolis 500 winner 2021, Helio Castroneves from Brazil. Castroneves, who drives for Meyer Shank Racing, paved the way to victory, leading 20 of 200 laps, averaging 190,690 mph, a race record.

Click here to read more

In keeping with time-honored tradition, the Castroneves face is shaped and attached to the iconic Borg Warner trophy – making it the 108th. As one of the most recognized trophies in the world, this coveted award has become a symbol of achieving the top of racing performance and symbolizes the triumph of Castroneves.

“BorgWarner is delighted to present Helio Castroneves with the Borg-Warner Trophy as the winner of the 105th edition of the Indianapolis 500,” said Lissalde. “Crossing the finish line is not an easy task and this trophy pays homage to the many distinguished drivers who have achieved this remarkable feat. It is my honor to reward Castroneves’ hard work, passion and dedication as he joins the ranks of his accomplished fellow drivers. “

This year, an estimated 135,000 fans were back in the stands at the historic IMS, cheering Castroneves on for his fourth win. It was Meyer Shank Racing’s first Indy 500 victory. Castroneves started the race in 8th place and prevailed 0.492 seconds ahead of Alex Palou from Spain. The defending champion Takuma Sato from Japan finished 14th, pole sitter Scott Dixon from New Zealand was 17th.

Frédéric Lissalde shakes hands with Helio Castroneves as he celebrates his fourth Indianapolis 500 victory in the Victory Circle at Indianapolis Motor Speed

BorgWarner’s participation in the Indianapolis 500 race goes beyond handing over the trophy. The Engineered for Racing (EFR) turbochargers from BorgWarner have been installed in every vehicle in the NTT IndyCar Series since 2012 and enrich the field of drivers at every race. The turbochargers are known for their unparalleled combination of advanced technologies that provide reliable and powerful performance in the toughest situations. The EFR turbochargers can reach speeds in excess of 200 mph throughout the race. The lightweight gamma-TiAl (titanium aluminide) turbine wheels and shaft assemblies ensure quick response, while the patented two-row ceramic ball bearing cartridges offer greater thrust, load capacity and turbine performance at low expansion ratios.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.