Retro emulation handheld Evercade EXP gets 18 Capcom classics integrated

Evercade EXP, an updated version of the original Evercade handheld, is now released with 18 built-in classic Capcom games.

The games included are a mix of arcade and console classics from the 80’s and 90’s, including games like Mega Man X, Street Fighter 2′: Hyper Fighting, Breath of Fire and Final Fight. All 18 games are built into the device without the need to swap out a cartridge or perform an additional download. Some of the included games take advantage of the EXP’s Tate Mode, which allows you to play games with the screen oriented vertically – just how titles like 1943 and Commando should be played.

Here is the full list of included games.

  • 1942 (arcade)
  • 1943 (arcade)
  • 1944: The Loop Master (Arcade)
  • Bionic Commando (Arcade)
  • Captain Command (Arcade)
  • commando (arcade)
  • Final Battle (Arcade)
  • Forgotten Worlds (Arcade)
  • Ghouls ‘n Ghosts (Arcade)
  • Legendary Wings (Arcade)
  • MERCENARY (arcade)
  • Street Fighter II’: Hyper Fighting (Arcade)
  • Strings (Arcade)
  • Vulgus (arcade)
  • Mega Man (8-bit)
  • Mega Man 2 (8-bit)
  • Mega Man X (16-bit)
  • Breath of Fire (16-bit)

The Evercade EXP is slated to launch on November 24, 2022 for $149.99 / £129.99 / €149.99. It is effectively a replacement for the original Evercade handheld that is being discontinued. The new handheld is compatible with all original Evercade cartridges, so you don’t have to replace your library.

We gave the original Evercade 3.5 stars in our hardware review two years ago and gave its console-based successor, the Evercade VS, 4 stars. Even amid a sea of ​​modern ways to play retro games, Evercade makes an enticing product, although hopefully the EXP will shore up some of those D-Pad issues.

Our ranking of The best retro consoles will help you understand the modern options.

Comments are closed.